On December 28, 2010, I Wrote This About Chris Weidman

I don’t like to brag, but in this case, I will say, “I told you so…”  In 2010, I wrote this about an up and coming prospect by the name of Chris Weidman.  There have been plenty of times I have been dead wrong about a prospect, but Weidman was a can’t miss.

That process begins with a hot prospect by the name of  Chris Weidman (4-0)  Weidman is a wrestler with great hands. He trains out of Serra-Longo gym in New York. Those who know what they are talking about rave about his skills. His hype reminds me of the hype behind Cain Velasquez. A miss on Weidman would be bad news. Think middleweight Cain Velasquez.

The UFC needs middleweight challengers and eventually they will need someone to replace Anderson Silva. If the UFC signed these guys today it would take about 2 years to properly develop them into champions. The UFC needs to sign these guys yesterday.

I had suggested that in two years Weidman could be a champion.  In 2 and a half years following that post, Weidman is the UFC middleweight champion.

I also wrote this…

Weidman tried out for the Ultimate Fighter 13, but the middleweights were subsequently removed from consideration.  I know it is early, but I think he is a future world champion.

It seems near prophetic.  Even then I am not sure I really understood the potential Weidman had.  In the end, hpe is meaningless.  Guys like me write stuff chalked full of silly opinions.  The reality is Weidman worked hard and earned what he got.

Speak Your Mind...

